Apricot Harvest

I question not if thrushes sing,

If roses load the air;

Beyond my heart I need not reach

When all is summer there.

~John Vance Cheney

Hubby bought in the apricot harvest, so I’ve been busy in the kitchen.  Once apricots taste the summer heat, they ripen in a hurry! 

I’ve filled the pantry with Apricot-Ginger and Apricot-Almond Jam:

I also load a steamer full of apricots and extracted unsweetened juice.  I can the juice and use it to make syrup, or jelly, on a boring winter day when I want to do something comforting in the kitchen.

One doesn’t have to cut and pit fruit when steaming, but I do it for two reasons.  I like to be sure I don’t have worms (there weren’t any) and I like to use the pulp.  Nothing goes to waste!

One can use the pulp to make jam, but since I already have lots of that, I decided to puree the pulp with brown sugar and can it.  I can use this as a base for salsas and bbq sauces.  Mmmmmmmmmmmmm good!

What are you harvesting?

One response to “Apricot Harvest

  1. MMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

I love hearing from you!

