Baby Changes

Grandmas hold our tiny hands for just a little while, but our hearts forever. ~Author Unknown

Four times a year I spend an entire day with my special WSQ (Washington State Quilters-Spokane Chapter) friends.  We car pool for 2 hours to the big city (Spokane) and spend the day in fellowship, shopping, lunch (sometimes dinner), and a quilt guild meeting.  We catch up on each other’s news and help each other shop.

I’m going to be a grandmother again (number 5), and I need a baby quilt.  The night before my big day out with the girls, I chose a focus fabric from my stash and I found a free baby quilt tutorial online.  Thank you Janet Wickell!   

On my big day out, the girls helped me to choose fabric (can’t be too girlish or too boyish because I don’t know what I’m getting yet).  I also won a door prize at the guild meeting…a package of bamboo batting and a spool of thread!  Lucky me!  I’ve never tried bamboo batting, so I have a feeling that I am in for a treat!

As you can see from the photo, this baby quilt will look quite different from the online pattern.  And…I have another project to add to my WIP List.  

Always be flexible…life does change things up! 

6 responses to “Baby Changes

  1. It`s going to be sooo cute! 🙂

  2. Yeah, the girls that were with me to choose fabric said, “That’s gonna be different. We would never choose black for a baby quilt. We like it!” We’ll see if we all like it when it is made up. Especially you, Jess! LOL!

  3. It will be another success my dear, another success!

  4. Spending a day with quilting buddies sounds wonderful. And looking for fabric for a baby quilt makes it that much better. I love looking through all those fabrics, and usually end up with twice as much as I need, but you can never have too much fabric in the stash. And congratulations on the new baby!

  5. Thank you Beth! I agree, one can never have too much stash! :O)

  6. Pingback: WIP Wednesday |

I love hearing from you!

