Good Luck Quilt Block

I nearly skipped this block from Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar 365 Quilt Blocks A Year.    I couldn’t see the design potential.

But with a name like Good Luck, how could I pass up the challenge?

Good Luck Quilt Block

Good Luck is an easy block to draw.  Simply slice a square in half diagonally and then draw two horizontal lines up to the diagonal.

I always begin my quilt design by looking at the block set side by side in a straight set.

Good Luck Straight Set

I’m thinking that without borders, and made smaller, the above could have potential to be a cute modern baby quilt.

The next design shows alternate Good Luck blocks rotated.

Good Luck Straight Set

More rotation:

Good Luck Straight Set

What if I merged four Good Luck blocks into one block, placed these blocks side by side, and rotated the alternates?

I have a nice basket weave thing going on.

Good Luck Straight Set

It might be well worth it to explore the four-into-one block by rotating some of the parts.  I didn’t think of that until just now, so will have to save that idea to play with later.

What I did think to do was to add another color and play with value.  Two examples of that:

Good Luck Straight Set

Good Luck Straight Set

There is no difference in the layouts of the above two designs.  Color/value is doing all the work.

The next design is playing with scale.  No new blocks are added.

Good Luck Straight Set

I did alter the Good Luck block by drawing a half square triangle into two corners.  The pleasant result is the pinwheels you see in the next design.

Good Luck Straight Set

There’s room for lots more exploration.  Except for the last design shown, I used only the Good Luck quilt block.  What about experimenting with alternate blocks and sashing? 

Who knew that one could get so much design potential from such a simple little block?

 

 

4 responses to “Good Luck Quilt Block

  1. That is an intriguing block – love what you did with it!

  2. Love the second of the two with the new colour added … what a contrast with the first one!

I love hearing from you!

