Yoda Finish

It has been a very hot, dry and windy summer…ripe for wildfires…and indeed, we have them raging in my home state of Washington, as well as Oregon and California.  So when I am home from the day job, I am attempting to keep some green space around my home.

I have great water, but it comes from a gravity fed spring, so I am limited to how long, and how much, I can water the gardens at any one time.  I am losing the battle for the green space.  Fortunately, there are no wildfires close by. 

I am blessed.

We did get a brief respite from a cool down and storm.  Unfortunately, this storm was particularly vicious.  There are downed trees everywhere, and it left thousands of people without power, water, and, in many cases, without a place to live since the trees smashed their homes.  My father is one of those without power and water, but he is coping well.

Again, I am blessed.

What angers me is that these people who have lost so much because of natural disasters are now being preyed upon by looters.  I look forward to the Lord’s justice in dealing with these heartless and selfish crooks!

I bet you don’t remember this:

Yoda
I made a stencil of words and painted it:

Yoda
Seemed fitting for kittens:

Yoda
Then the little project sat. 

And sat.

I have finally sandwiched it and finished it.

Yoda
I was going to use free motion quilting and outline the kittens’ bodies…sort of a ghost effect.  Once I sandwiched it, and quilted it, however, I didn’t like it.

My next thought was to paint the bodies.  I should’ve stopped thinking and followed through on that idea.

Instead, I decided to thread paint the bodies.  Now I know about stabilizers (I’ve thread painted before), but this was already sandwiched and quilted.  And, yes, I know that I still could have used a water-soluble stabilizer.  If I had any.  I didn’t.  And if I wanted to wait to finish.  I didn’t.

Ha!  My little quilt (about 8″ x 11″) shrunk up like a roasted marshmallow!  I had to steam the snot out of it to get it to lie flat again!

Yoda

I’m done.  Maybe a granddaughter will want this one.  Or I will be an anonymous giver to a quilting buddy.  Heh, heh!

On to the next UFO.

4 responses to “Yoda Finish

  1. I think it turned out pretty cute! I do remember it! ;p

  2. Adorable and full of character!

I love hearing from you!

