Aunt Sukey Spins Off

For my personal block/quilt design challenge, I chose Aunt Sukey’s Choice quilt block this week.

Aunt Sukey's Choice Quilt Block

It is drawn with a 6 x 6 grid.

I usually challenge myself to add/delete lines to a block to come up with alternate blocks, and then use these blocks, along with the original block, to design quilts.

I got distracted by SewCalGal’s red and white challenge.  In Phase II, we are challenged to design a red and white quilt.  If we want to actually make the quilt, then Phase III is available for us to enter.

The blocks in the following design do not include the original Aunt Sukey’s Choice block, but two variations that I drew from it.

Aunt Sukey Spins Off

The quilt size is 84.5″ x 96.5″.

Electric Quilt 7 (my quilt design software of choice) even gives the yardage requirements!

Yardage Requirements

And just for fun, let’s see how it looks when I move the red and white around:

Aunt Sukey Spins Off 2

I like them both!

If I were to make this design, I don’t know that I would stick to just three fabrics.  As long as I keep the importance of value/contrast in mind, I could make this a scrappy red and white quilt.

I’m going to link up with SewCalGal!  How about you?  Are you taking the red and white challenge?

2 responses to “Aunt Sukey Spins Off

  1. I had to look twice to make sure you had not changed more than the colour placement!

I love hearing from you!

